Upholstery fabric: fibers, rub counts, cleaning codes and labels
Choose or understand a fabric by its fiber, weave and finish, read rub counts as a minimum rather than a lifespan, find and follow the cleaning code, and read the flammability, flame-retardant and stain-treatment labels for what they say.
- Start here: the essentials
- 1. Understand: fiber, weave and finish
- Rub counts: a minimum, not a lifespan
- Cleaning codes: W, S, W/S and X
- Flammability, flame-retardant and stain-treatment labels
- Abrasion tests, duty bands, PFAS lists and makers' methods
- 2. See it: Maya's sofa
- 3. Practice: read one piece's tags
- 4. Your home
- 5. Check your work
- 6. Knowledge check and scenario
Start here Essentials
For a first pass, this chapter asks you to read one upholstered piece's tags and write down what they say: its cleaning code, its fiber, its rub count if one is given, its flammability labels and any stain treatment. Nothing is cleaned here.
- Find the cleaning code and write it down. Look on the tag under a seat cushion or on the deck, or on the maker's page for the piece (cleaning codes).
- Read the fiber content and set it against what the room asks. Cats, sun and spills each ask something different of a fiber and a weave (fibers and how each behaves).
- Read the rub count as a minimum, then the flammability and flame-retardant labels. Write what each label states, not what it seems to promise (rub counts; labels).
- Ask whether a stain treatment was applied, and what it is. Ask the seller or maker, and write the answer or "unknown" (stain treatments and PFAS).
Minimum time: about 30 minutes for one sofa or chair, plus waiting for a seller's answer. Done when: the installed register or the comparison sheet lists the piece's fiber, cleaning code and labels.
1. Fiber, weave and finish Understand
An upholstery fabric is three decisions stacked together. The fiber is the material the yarn is spun from: cotton, wool, polyester and so on. The weave (or knit) is how the yarns are put together: tight and flat, loose, looped or piled. The finish is anything applied to the cloth after it is made, such as a water repellent or a stain treatment. Each shapes how a sofa wears, and a label usually tells you only part of the story.
This chapter reads a fabric the way How to compare finishes reads any surface: by the room's questions. Does the piece face a sunny window? Does a cat sleep on it? Does it take spills from children or coffee? Write those questions down first, then read the fabric's fiber, weave, rub count, cleaning code and labels against them. The room's questions as the frame are this manual's convention. This manual's convention
Fibers and how each behaves
The most complete free fiber table we found comes from New Mexico State University's extension service, revised in 2003 and not reissued since (NMSU Guide G-401, Selecting Fabrics for Home Furnishings). It is old and we found no newer edition; we use it for each fiber's basic behavior. The table below follows it, with one line from a rug maker on viscose. Physical principle
| Fiber | What NMSU says it does well | What NMSU says to watch |
|---|---|---|
| Cotton | Soft, easy to clean, durable, dyes easily | May lint; wrinkles unless finished; subject to mildew |
| Linen | Strong and durable | Colors may run in washing; stiff; wrinkles; may shrink unless finished |
| Wool | Resilient, resists wrinkling, sheds water, resists flame | Moths and carpet beetles unless treated |
| Polyester | Strong; resists wrinkles, abrasion, stretching and shrinking; holds color | May pill; attracts lint |
| Olefin (polypropylene) | Strong, resists abrasion, free from pilling, dries fast, resists soil, does not absorb | Not stated in the table |
| Acrylic | Resists abrasion and wrinkling | Weak when wet; some pill; static |
| Nylon | Strong, resists abrasion | Fades in sun; may pill; tends to attract dirt |
| Rayon | Not stated in the table | Weaker than most fibers, especially when wet; may shrink or stretch; affected by sunlight |
| Viscose | Kaleen, a rug maker, calls it a wood-pulp fiber | More delicate than wool and very sensitive to moisture, per Kaleen (Kaleen, Rug Cleaning and Care) |
| Acetate | Not stated in the table | Poor abrasion resistance; weakened by sunlight; may fume-fade |
Pilling is the small balls of fiber that form where cloth rubs. The Association for Contract Textiles (ACT), the trade group for commercial fabric suppliers, calls pilling an appearance problem that does not affect durability or function (ACT Performance Guidelines, Woven Indoor, February 2025). It can still matter to you on a cream sofa.
Blends. Many upholstery fabrics mix two or more fibers. No source we found says how a blend behaves as a whole. Read each fiber's line in the table, and treat the weakest one as the one to watch: a blend with rayon in it may still be weak when wet.
Solution-dyed acrylic. Solution-dyed means the color is added to the fiber material before it is formed into fiber, rather than dyed into the yarn or cloth afterward. Sunbrella, which makes solution-dyed acrylic, publishes stain recipes that use household bleach diluted in water with dish soap (Sunbrella Cleaning Guide). Its page does not say other acrylics tolerate bleach, and NMSU's table says acrylic is weak when wet. So the bleach recipe is Sunbrella's for Sunbrella. Product-specific
Weave, cats and claws
Fiber is half the story with pets. Revolution, an olefin fabric maker, says on its own page that no upholstery fabric is truly scratch-proof and to be skeptical of the claim. It says weave matters most: tight, flat weaves resist snagging, and loops, such as some chenilles and boucles, catch claws (Revolution, Best Upholstery Fabric for Cats). We found no standard test for claw or snag resistance, so a "pet-friendly" label rests on the seller's word. Product-specific
A cat that scratches one arm wears the fabric at an edge. ACT notes that the standard abrasion tests measure flat rubbing and do not consider edges such as seat fronts and arms (ACT, Abrasion Disclaimer). So a high rub count says nothing about claws on an arm.
"Performance fabric" and finishes
Performance fabric is a term the furniture trade uses, not a standard. Revolution describes it as fabric whose performance comes either from the fiber itself or from a chemical treatment or coating, and names olefin, acrylic, nylon and polyester as common performance fibers, adding that not all of them resist stains on their own (Revolution, What is Performance Fabric?). Its page cites no test that a fabric must pass to be called "performance". Convention
So when a tag says "performance", ask two questions: which fiber, and which finish? NMSU's table of finishes is blunt about what finishes do not do. A water-repellent finish does not waterproof fabric. A soil-release finish does not prevent stains. Shrinkage control limits shrinkage to a stated percent and does not promise none (NMSU G-401).
Rub counts: a minimum, not a lifespan
A rub count is the result of a lab abrasion test: how much rubbing a fabric took before it showed wear. In the United States it is usually given as double rubs from the Wyzenbeek test (ASTM D4157), where the fabric is held taut and rubbed back and forth with a standard cotton duck cloth; each back-and-forth pass is one double rub. Elsewhere it is often given as cycles from the Martindale test (ASTM D4966), where the fabric is rubbed against worsted wool in a pattern that traces a widening ellipse. The rubbing material in either test is the abradant. Both tests stop at a set end point, such as two broken yarns or visible wear (ACT white paper, Abrasion Resistance: The Full Story, 2010).
ACT's minimums
The only published thresholds we found from a trade body are ACT's, and they are written for commercial (contract) fabric, not for home furniture. Convention
| ACT use level | Wyzenbeek (ASTM D4157) | Martindale (ASTM D4966) |
|---|---|---|
| Low traffic, private spaces | 15,000 double rubs | 20,000 cycles |
| High traffic, public spaces | 30,000 double rubs | 40,000 cycles |
Source: ACT Performance Guidelines, Woven Indoor. Read these as minimums for a fabric to meet ACT's mark. They are not a forecast of how long a sofa lasts.
What the number does not tell you
- It is not a lifespan. ACT requires licensees who publish results above its high-traffic level to say that those results are not an indicator of product lifespan, and it says a fabric with twice the cycles does not have double the service life. The Wyzenbeek standard itself says lab abrasion results should not be relied on to predict actual wear life (ASTM D4157-13(2022)). Convention
- Repeat tests vary widely. ACT says repeat tests on some fabrics may vary by 60 percent or more, and it does not recommend comparing fabrics by absolute numbers (ACT, Abrasion Disclaimer). A fabric listed at 50,000 and one listed at 40,000 may not differ in any meaningful way. ASTM says lab tests are reliable for relative performance only where the difference is large.
- The two tests do not convert. ACT says there is no correlation between Wyzenbeek and Martindale results, and its white paper says it is not possible to estimate one from the other. A Martindale figure in cycles and a Wyzenbeek figure in double rubs are two different measures; compare like with like.
- The abradant matters. ACT's white paper says olefin is best tested with a wire screen instead of cotton duck. A figure without its abradant is hard to compare.
- Very high numbers add little. The same white paper says results above 100,000 are not meaningful in adding value in use.
- Most failures are not abrasion. ACT's member survey found that fabric failures in the field are far more likely to come from inappropriate cleaning, poor maintenance, physical abuse or using a fabric where it does not belong.
The practical reading: a rub count tells you whether a fabric met a minimum on one flat-rubbing test. Past that, the cleaning code, the weave and how you care for the piece matter more. Retailers also sort fabrics into residential "duty" bands; those bands differ between sellers and are not a standard (see Go deeper). Samples, ratings, labels and warranties covers reading any rating for what it does not predict (ratings).
Cleaning codes: W, S, W/S and X
A cleaning code is a letter or two on a tag that says what kind of cleaner a fabric tolerates. Look on the tag under a seat cushion, on the deck (the platform under the cushions), on the frame underneath, or on the maker's page for the piece. American Leather, a furniture maker, describes the code as the manufacturer's recommendation, found on a label under the cushions or the base (American Leather, Explaining Fabric Cleaning Codes).
The codes are a trade convention. No federal rule or standards body defines them, and the federal care label rule does not reach them: it covers textile clothing and fabric sold by the piece for sewing clothing at home (16 CFR Part 423, Care Labeling). Upholstered furniture is outside it. So each maker sets its own codes, and a few go beyond the four common letters. Convention
| Code | The common reading | What it does not mean |
|---|---|---|
| W | Water-based cleaner: a water-based upholstery shampoo or foam, without over-wetting | Sailrite says it is not the same as machine washable |
| S | Solvent only: a water-free solvent spot cleaner (a dry-cleaning solvent), with ventilation and no open flame. American Leather says water can damage the fabric or leave rings | Not "spot clean with water" |
| W/S | Either a water-based or a solvent cleaner; Sailrite says the hidden-spot test is especially important, and overall soil goes to a professional | Not "anything goes" |
| X | No water and no solvent. Sailrite: vacuum or light brushing only. American Leather: do not clean it yourself; hire a professional | Makers differ on whether a professional should clean it |
Sources: Sailrite, Understanding Upholstery Fabric Cleaning Codes; American Leather. The labels decoder keeps the same table.
Your maker's code wins over the common reading. Ashley, a furniture maker, lists its own codes beside the common ones: DC (dry clean only), HW (hand wash), MW (machine washable), and E and N for leather, meaning use Ashley's leather care kit (Ashley, Cleaning Codes). If a tag shows a letter that is not W, S, W/S or X, look it up on that maker's page before you clean anything. Product-specific
Whatever the code, test any cleaner on a hidden spot first, such as the back of a skirt or the underside of a cushion, and let it dry before you judge it. Sailrite says to pre-test, and the hidden-spot test is this manual's rule for every surface. This manual's convention
Solvent spot cleaners need care with fire and air. Sailrite and NMSU both say to keep them away from open flame, and Sailrite says to ventilate the room. NMSU's guide says not to put solvents into a washing machine. Read the product's label and follow it; Learn First Home Basics, Cleaning safely covers reading a cleaning product's label and keeping products apart.
The routine the codes sit inside
NMSU's care guide recommends vacuuming or brushing upholstery once a week and turning reversible cushions weekly so they wear evenly. It says to use as little moisture as possible on a stain, to pretest, to use solvents for oily stains and water solutions for water-based ones, both within what the code allows, and that direct sunlight fades and damages fabric (NMSU Guide G-402, Care for Fabric Home Furnishings). The care schedule carries the weekly vacuuming. Preference
A cushion zipper is not an invitation to wash the cover. NMSU says not to remove zippered cushion covers from upholstered furniture, because washing them apart can shrink them, damage the backing or change the color. Leather, faux leather and slipcovers covers covers made to come off. What to do in the minutes after a spill, code by code, is in Stains, damage and older homes, and the one-page version is Something just spilled.
Flammability, flame-retardant and stain-treatment labels
Three kinds of label can appear on an upholstered piece sold in the United States: a federal flammability label, California's flame-retardant statement, and whatever the seller says about a stain treatment. Each states one narrow thing.
The federal flammability label
Since June 25, 2021, upholstered furniture made, imported or reupholstered in the United States has had to meet a federal flammability standard, 16 CFR Part 1640. The standard adopts California's Technical Bulletin 117-2013 (TB 117-2013) as federal law. From June 25, 2022, it requires a permanent label reading "Complies with U.S. CPSC requirements for upholstered furniture flammability." It covers indoor seating with an upholstered seat, back or arm, including children's furniture, and excludes mattresses and bedding (16 CFR Part 1640). A piece made before those dates may carry a different label, or none.
TB 117-2013 is a smolder test: a lit cigarette is placed on small mock-ups of the cover fabric, barrier and filling, and a material fails if it keeps smoldering after the 45-minute test, bursts into flame, or chars past a set length. The bulletin itself says its methods are not intended to measure how materials respond to an open flame (California TB 117-2013). So the federal label says the materials passed a cigarette test. It does not say how the sofa behaves if a candle or a space heater sets it alight. Convention
The standard tests performance, not chemistry. CPSC's plain-language page describes it as a set of smolder tests on the cover fabric, filling, barrier and decking, with no rule about which chemicals they contain, and says a piece can comply either with a passing barrier that wraps the filling or with a passing cover fabric and passing filling (CPSC, Upholstered Furniture FAQ). To learn whether flame retardants were added, read the next label.
California's flame-retardant statement
Since January 1, 2015, upholstered furniture sold in California that must meet TB 117-2013 carries a statement about flame retardant chemicals. It reads "The upholstery materials in this product:" followed by two lines, "contain added flame retardant chemicals" and "contain NO added flame retardant chemicals", with an X beside the one that applies; both lines appear. It covers the cover fabric, barrier, filling and decking, and sits on the same label as the TB 117-2013 wording (California Bureau of Household Goods and Services, SB 1019 FAQ). The federal standard keeps state laws like this one that are not about fire.
The same FAQ says the Bureau has no authority outside California and knew of no other state that had adopted the statement. If a piece has no statement, ask the seller or maker in writing whether flame retardants were added, and to which parts. Ask the maker
Stain treatments and PFAS
A stain repellent is a finish that slows how fast a spill soaks in, so liquid beads up and can be blotted. ACT says a repellent does not bulletproof a fabric and does not change which cleaners the fabric tolerates (ACT, Stain Repellent Finishes). The cleaning code still rules.
Many repellents were made with PFAS (per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances), a large family of chemicals. EPA says there are thousands of them, that many break down very slowly, and it names stain and water repellents on upholstery among household sources (EPA, Our Current Understanding of PFAS). ACT describes the textile trade's move away from older PFAS around 2015, and calls "C0" marketing shorthand for finishes made without intentionally added PFAS. It also says finishes without PFAS may be less effective against oil-based stains, and that fabric with no finish may clean better with water.
Some states now restrict PFAS in textiles, and each state defines what it covers. California's is one example, and state rules vary. Under California Health and Safety Code sections 108970 and 108971, from January 1, 2025, no one may make, distribute or sell in California a new, not previously used textile article, upholstery included, containing regulated PFAS. "Regulated" means PFAS added on purpose, or total organic fluorine at or above 100 parts per million, falling to 50 parts per million on January 1, 2027 (HSC 108970, definitions; HSC 108971, prohibition). The law covers new articles, so it says nothing about a used sofa, and it excludes the PFAS treatments sold for use on finished textiles, such as aftermarket protector sprays. For other states, ACT keeps a list dated February 2026 on its stain-repellent page; ACT calls it general reference, so check your own state's agency. Ask your state
What to ask a seller: was a stain treatment applied, by whom (the mill, the furniture maker or the store), what it is, and whether it contains intentionally added PFAS. Write the answer, or "unknown", on the questions sheet. A treatment sold as an add-on at the register is a separate product; ask for its name and its care instructions.
A rub count is a minimum for the fabric on one flat-rubbing test, not a lifespan for the sofa. No label makes a fabric stain-proof or pet-proof. The flammability label describes one smolder test; it does not say how the piece behaves in an open flame. This manual gives no health advice on flame retardants or PFAS: it says what the labels and laws state and what to ask. Questions about health go to EPA's PFAS page and your clinician, and questions about a state's law go to that state's agency. Ask the authority
Abrasion tests, duty bands, PFAS lists and makers' methods Go deeper
How the two abrasion tests are run
ACT's 2010 white paper describes both. In the Wyzenbeek test, the fabric is held taut and rubbed back and forth with #10 cotton duck. It is checked every 5,000 double rubs, and the result is reported at the last checkpoint it passed, so a fabric that fails at 33,000 is reported as 30,000. It ends at two yarn breaks, noticeable wear, or 100,000 double rubs. In the Martindale test, the sample is rubbed against worsted wool along an enlarging elliptical path called a Lissajous figure; it ends at two yarn breaks or a set shade change, and is also reported in 5,000-cycle steps. The paper says results on the same sample can vary by as much as 25,000 either way, and more above 50,000.
The white paper cites older editions of both standards. The current ones are ASTM D4157-13, reapproved in 2022, and ASTM D4966-22, reapproved in 2026. The Martindale standard's own text says its between-laboratory precision is poor and that it is not recommended for acceptance testing, though it is widely used (ASTM D4966-22(2026)).
Residential duty bands
Retailers and makers sort fabrics into bands for home use. The bands do not match each other or ACT's contract levels, and no standard sets them.
| Source | Bands, in Wyzenbeek double rubs |
|---|---|
| Sailrite, a fabric retailer | Delicate under 3,000; light 3,000 to 9,000; medium 9,000 to 15,000; heavy 30,000 and up (Sailrite, What Is a Fabric Wear Rating?) |
| American Leather, a furniture maker | Residential 10,000 to 25,000; light 9,000 to 12,000; medium 12,000 to 20,000; heavy above 20,000 (American Leather, Fabric Rub Tests) |
| ACT, commercial | 15,000 low traffic; 30,000 high traffic |
Two notes on these pages. Sailrite's heavy band starts at 30,000 and skips 15,000 to 30,000, and Sailrite treats 15,000 on the wire-screen abradant as equal in its site filter to 30,000 on cotton duck, which shows how much the abradant matters. American Leather's page says 15,000 double rubs means sitting four times a day for a decade without wear; that turns a minimum into a lifespan, which ACT and ASTM D4157 both say a lab result does not support. It also describes the Martindale abradant as sandpaper or wool, where ACT and ASTM specify worsted wool or wire screen.
The other ACT marks
ACT's guideline sets more than abrasion. For woven indoor upholstery it asks for a pass on TB 117-2013; crocking (dye rubbing off onto another surface) of Grade 4 dry and Grade 3 wet; colorfastness to light of Grade 4 at 40 hours, with a footnote that test hours do not correspond to hours of service; pilling of Class 3; and minimum breaking strength and seam slippage. ACT says the application and use are set by the fabric supplier. A sample test for crocking at home, rubbing a swatch with a damp white cloth and then a dry dark one, is on the sample tests sheet; that test is ours, not ACT's.
The state PFAS list
ACT's stain-repellent page lists states with textile PFAS laws and their effective dates, as of February 2026. We name only California's dates here, because we read California's statute and not the others. Each state defines which furniture and furnishings it covers, and some dates are still ahead. Use ACT's list to find your state, then read that state's own agency page.
Two makers' cleaning methods
Sunbrella's April 2015 care sheet, a copy hosted by a retailer, gives a general mix of 1/4 cup mild soap per gallon of lukewarm water, machine washing of removable covers in cold water with bleach, air drying only, and no steam (Sunbrella Upholstery Care and Cleaning, 2015). In 2015 Sunbrella said its fabric had a fluorocarbon finish, a PFAS chemistry, that thorough cleaning removed. Read the sheet as history: its current page is the one to follow, and we did not find a current statement of its finish chemistry.
Crypton, which makes a treated performance fabric, says to blot and brush off loose soil, mist with plain water first, then use water with a few drops of mild detergent, working lightly from the outside of the stain inward, rinsing often to remove soap residue, which attracts dirt, and not soaking the fabric, which leaves water rings. For hot water extraction it says to use hot water only (Crypton, How To Clean Upholstery Fabric). Revolution, by contrast, cleans its olefin with about 2 ounces of bleach to 30 ounces of water and says to avoid solvent cleaners and aftermarket fabric protectors. Three makers, three methods: each applies to its own fabric. Product-specific
2. See it: Maya's sofa See it
Maya Ortiz is a fictional person, and every fact about her here is invented for this manual. She is 29, uses she/her, and rents a one-bedroom apartment. She bought a used three-seat sofa in a cream woven fabric. The tag under the seat cushion reads "S". Her cat, Biscuit, scratches the sofa's arm. She keeps a weekly cleaning routine.
Known: the code is S; the fabric is a cream woven; the sofa is used; Biscuit scratches one arm.
Settled here: what S allows. S means solvent-based cleaner only, with no water. For Maya that rules out water and water-based upholstery shampoo on this sofa, and it means any spot cleaner she buys must be a water-free solvent cleaner, tested first on the back of the skirt and used with a window open and nothing lit. Her weekly routine on the sofa becomes vacuuming with the upholstery tool. The coffee spill on the sofa, and how she handles it within the S code, is settled in Stains, damage and older homes.
Her assumptions: that the S tag belongs to the fabric now on the sofa, and that nobody has reupholstered the sofa since it was made. Under these assumptions, S is the rule for this fabric. If the sofa was reupholstered, the tag may describe a fabric that is no longer there.
Open: the fiber content, since the tag gives only the code (the previous owner may have the paperwork; if not, it stays "unknown" on her sheet); whether a federal flammability label or California's flame-retardant statement is on the deck or frame (Maya settles it by lifting the cushions and tipping the sofa to look underneath); whether a stain treatment was applied (the previous owner may know; the maker can say if a label names one); whether her S tag means the same at this maker as Sailrite's reading (the maker's page settles it, if she can find the maker).
On Biscuit: the scratching is edge wear on an arm, which no rub count measures, and Revolution's page says no fabric is scratch-proof. Nothing on the tag settles it. A cream woven fabric with loops would catch claws more than a flat one, so Maya notes the weave on her sheet, and the scratched arm goes on the stain and damage log with a photo.
- Sailrite, Understanding Upholstery Fabric Cleaning Codes: the common reading of W, S, W/S and X, with the pre-test step.
- ACT, Abrasion Disclaimer: why a rub count is not a lifespan, and what causes most fabric failures.
- California SB 1019 FAQ: the flame-retardant statement, with its exact wording and where it sits on the label.
- Revolution, Best Upholstery Fabric for Cats: a maker's own page on weave, claws and scratch-proof claims.
3. Practice: read one piece's tags Practice
Minimum: one sofa or chair: its cleaning code, fiber and any labels written on the installed register, and the stain-treatment question sent. Time: about 30 minutes. Materials: a flashlight, your phone's camera, and the installed register (or paper); for a piece you are choosing, the seller's spec sheet and the comparison sheet.
- Find every tag. Lift each seat cushion, look on the deck and the frame underneath, and check the back of the piece. Photograph each tag before you read it.
- Write the cleaning code. If it is a letter other than W, S, W/S or X, look up the maker's own meaning.
- Write the fiber content. Use the percentages if they are given. If there is no fiber tag, write "unknown" and who might know.
- Write each label as it reads. The flammability label's wording, the California statement and which line has the X, and any rub count with its test name (Wyzenbeek or Martindale).
- Ask about a stain treatment. Send the seller or maker the questions from the stain treatments section, and add them to the questions sheet with today's date.
For a fabric you are choosing, test swatches. Ask for swatches you may mark. On the sample tests sheet, run the fabric group: a drop of water (does it bead, soak in, or leave a ring when dry), your household's usual stains blotted as the code allows, and a rub with a damp white cloth and then a dry dark one for color transfer. These tests are ours, not a standard's; they show how this swatch behaved on your table and do not predict wear. Test it Set up the routine. Add weekly vacuuming and the cushion turn to the care schedule, with the maker's line in its own column.
4. Your home Your home
5. Check your work Check your work
Criteria
- Does the sheet give the cleaning code exactly as the tag shows it, with the maker's meaning if it is not one of the four common codes?
- Does it give the fiber content, or "unknown" and who might know?
- Is any rub count written with its test name, and read as a minimum?
- Are the flammability and flame-retardant labels written as they read, or marked "none found"?
- Is the stain-treatment question sent, with the answer or "unknown"?
Worked example
Maya's installed register row reads: living room; sofa, used; cream woven; fiber unknown (ask previous owner); code S, solvent only, no water; flammability labels not yet checked; stain treatment unknown; Biscuit's scratching noted with a photo on the damage log. It passes the first-pass test: the code, the fiber line and the labels line are all filled in, two of them with "unknown" and a name. It does not say the fabric is durable or stain resistant, because nothing on the tag says so.
Common mistakes
- Treating S as "spot clean". S means solvent. Water on an S-coded fabric can leave rings, per American Leather.
- Reading a zipper as washable. NMSU says not to remove zippered cushion covers on upholstered furniture.
- Comparing a Martindale figure with a Wyzenbeek figure. They do not convert.
- Buying the higher rub count for longer life. ACT says twice the cycles is not twice the life, and repeat tests can vary by 60 percent.
- Reading the flammability label as fire-safe. It describes a cigarette test, not an open flame.
- Taking "performance" or "pet-friendly" as a rating. Neither has a standard behind it; ask which fiber and which finish.
What is still unresolved
What to do in the first minutes after a spill, code by code, is in Stains, damage and older homes, which also covers judging damage and when to call an upholsterer. Routine cleaning across every surface is in Cleaning by surface. Leather, faux leather and removable slipcovers are in Leather, faux leather and slipcovers. Whether a state's PFAS law covers a piece is for that state's agency, and health questions about flame retardants or PFAS are for EPA's pages and your clinician.