Materials at a glance: what each one takes and what it does not
Reference

Materials at a glance: what each one takes and what it does not

One row per material: water, scratches and dents, stains, heat, sun, care, repair, published life figures and the rating to read. Each cell is a short phrase from a source, or says no source we found covers it. Filter by surface.

How to read this table

Each cell is a short paraphrase of one source, with the source named in brackets, or the line "Not stated by a source we found." Blank knowledge stays visible: a cell that says nothing about heat means no source we read covers heat for that material, not that heat does no harm. The table does not score materials or rank them. This manual's convention

Where makers say different things, the cell names both. Where a row names a maker (Shaw, Cambria, Wilsonart), the line is that maker's rule for its own products. Your maker's care sheet and warranty override any line here. Product-specific

Three sources give life figures, and they count different things:

  • NAHB 2007: a 2006 telephone survey of makers and trade associations. The report calls its figures a general guideline only, not a warranty. "Lifetime" is not a number of years.
  • InterNACHI: a home inspectors' chart, undated, close to NAHB's. It also says its figures are guidelines, not guarantees.
  • Fannie Mae 2019: estimated useful lives for apartments, used to plan replacement in rentals, reprinted by the Port of Seattle in February 2025. Rental planners assume shorter lives than NAHB's homeowners' survey.

"No published figure" means none of the three lists the material. The Cost per year calculator asks for your own life figure for that reason; How to compare finishes explains how to choose one.

Caution

Do not cut, grind or drill engineered stone, natural stone or tile yourself. The dust can contain crystalline silica, and OSHA and NIOSH name cutting, grinding and polishing as the tasks with the highest exposure (OSHA/NIOSH hazard alert, 2026). The silica figures in the counter rows are about fabrication. Western Australia's consumer regulator says installed, undisturbed engineered stone does not pose a safety risk (Government of Western Australia). See Countertops for the questions to ask a fabricator.

The table

Filter by surface, or type a word (heat, bleach, NSI) to find every row that mentions it. Print gives the whole table.

Materials at a glance. Each cell paraphrases the named source; your maker's sheet overrides it.
MaterialWaterScratches and dentsStainsHeatSunCareRepairPublished life, years (source, date)Rating to readSources
Solid wood floorGaining moisture cups boards; losing it opens gaps (NWFA). No wet or steam mops (NWFA).Janka measures dent resistance of the species (NWFA, USDA). NWFA says pets will scratch it.Not stated by a source we found.Radiant heat: NWFA's 2019 guidelines cap the floor surface at 80 °F.Indoors, dark wood lightens and light wood darkens, mostly from visible light (USDA).Sweep or dust mop; NWFA's schedule adds a maintenance coat every 3 to 5 years or as needed. NWFA's range: 30 to 50 percent relative humidity.Recoat for wear; full sand for deep scratches and dents (NWFA). Most solid floors take six to eight sandings, per NWFA's magazine.NAHB 2007: Lifetime. InterNACHI: 100+. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 15 to 20 (wood strip or parquet).JankaNWFA care sheet, NWFA problem prevention, NWFA durability, NWFA refinishing, Hardwood Floors, sandings, Hardwood Floors, radiant heat, USDA Wood Handbook, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Engineered wood floorMoves less with moisture than solid; NWFA calls it suited to basements. Follow the maker's moisture rules (NWFA).NWFA says Janka values do not apply to engineered flooring.Not stated by a source we found.NWFA's 80 °F radiant limit is for wood floors; some makers set other limits, so check the maker (Hardwood Floors).Wood changes color in light, finished or not (USDA).No wet or steam mops (NWFA). Use the cleaner the floor or finish maker names.Depends on the wear layer: NWFA's magazine advises against sanding one under 3/32 in.NAHB 2007: 50+. InterNACHI: 50+. Fannie Mae 2019: no separate row.Wear layer thicknessNWFA floor types, NWFA acclimation, NWFA durability, NWFA maintenance, Hardwood Floors, sandings, Hardwood Floors, radiant heat, USDA Wood Handbook, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Laminate floorNALFA: not for bathrooms or other wet areas unless the maker specifies it. Shaw: no wet mopping.Abrasion class is one part of durability; impact and stain resistance also count (NALFA). Scratch testing is optional under NALFA.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Use a laminate cleaner (Shaw). No wax or varnish (NALFA).NALFA says it cannot be sanded or refinished; in many click systems a damaged plank can be replaced.NAHB 2007: 15 to 25. InterNACHI: 15 to 25. Fannie Mae 2019: no separate row.Wear cycles and AC class; TSCA Title VI for the coreNALFA, what is laminate, NALFA FAQ, NALFA certification, NALFA AC white paper, Shaw laminate care, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Luxury vinyl plank (LVP) and rigid coreIn 2019 Floor Focus found no industry standard for "waterproof". One warranty covers topical spills only while water does not flow over the edge (Shaw, 2021).High heels can leave permanent dents (Mohawk, 2020). Felt protectors; the heavier the object, the wider the pad (Shaw).Latex- or rubber-backed mats can discolor it (Shaw).One warranty excludes floating floors heated above 140 °F (Shaw, 2021). Radiant heat limits: not stated by a source we found.Avoid extended direct sunlight (Shaw); sunlight can discolor it (Mohawk, 2020).pH-neutral cleaner (COREtec). Shaw: no abrasives, ammonia or vinegar.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure for rigid core. The vinyl rows predate it: NAHB 2007 50, InterNACHI 25, Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals) 7 to 15 for resilient flooring.Wear layer (mils); FloorScoreFloor Focus on waterproof (2019), Shaw SmartCore warranty (2021), Shaw vinyl care, COREtec FAQ, Mohawk LVT care (2020), RFCI flooring types, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Sheet vinylComes in 6 ft and 12 ft widths, so fewer seams (RFCI). Slippery when wet (Mannington).Protectors at least 1 in. across; casters at least 3/4 in. wide (Mannington).Latex-backed or coco-fiber mats stain it (Mannington).Heat with sunlight fades resilient floors (Mannington).Heat with sunlight fades resilient floors (Mannington).Mannington names a non-sudsy ammonia cleaner; Shaw and Mohawk say avoid ammonia on their vinyl.Older sheet vinyl backing may contain asbestos: presume it does and do not sand or scrape it (RFCI, EPA).NAHB 2007: 50 (vinyl). InterNACHI: 25 (vinyl). Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 7 to 15 (resilient). None separates sheet from plank.FloorScoreRFCI flooring types, Mannington resilient care, Shaw vinyl care, Mohawk LVT care (2020), RFCI work practices, EPA asbestos, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
LinoleumDo not flood the floor (Forbo).Not stated by a source we found.Rubber- or vinyl-backed rugs only if non-staining (Forbo).Not stated by a source we found.A yellow cast from linseed oil (ambering) fades in light; Forbo says it is not a defect.Cleaner between pH 6.0 and 8.0 (Forbo).Not stated by a source we found.NAHB 2007: 25. InterNACHI: 25. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 7 to 15 (resilient).FloorScoreForbo Marmoleum home care, RFCI flooring types, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
CorkMop without too much water (Wicanders).Felt under furniture legs (Wicanders).Rubber or latex mats can stain it (Wicanders).Not stated by a source we found.May lighten in strong sun (Wicanders).Avoid strong abrasives and ammonia (Wicanders).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Not stated by a source we found.Wicanders cork care
CarpetAfter a flood, extract and start drying within 24 hours; soaked cushion generally needs replacing (CRI).Construction, not fiber, makes carpet durable: dense, with pile 1/2 in. or less for heavy traffic (CRI).No carpet is completely stain proof (CRI).Over radiant heat, cushion no thicker than 3/8 in. (CRI).Not stated by a source we found.Vacuum at least weekly; professional deep clean every 12 to 18 months (CRI). Shaw says 6 to 18 months.Clip sprouted tufts, do not pull them; wrinkles may need restretching (CRI).NAHB 2007: 8 to 10. InterNACHI: 8 to 10. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 7, 10 or 3+ by property type.CRI Seal of Approval; Green Label PlusCRI FAQ, CRI selecting carpet, CRI cleaning, CRI installation tips, Shaw carpet care, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Porcelain tileWater absorption 0.5 percent or less (TCNA). Grout joints are not waterproof (TCNA).Through-body porcelain is harder than granite, per TCNA.Glazed is usually easier to clean (TCNA). Cement grout absorbs stains (TCNA).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Cement grout is the part that needs care: TCNA calls sealing it a very good idea.Not stated by a source we found.NAHB 2007: 75 to 100 (tile floors). InterNACHI: 75 to 100. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 20 to 25 (ceramic, tile, terrazzo).Porcelain certification; DCOFTCNA porcelain, TCNA porcelain certification, TCNA ceramic tile, TCNA cleaning grout, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Ceramic tile (non-porcelain)Water absorption above 0.5 percent (TCNA).Glazed tile's wear is tested by ASTM C1027 (the PEI test).Glazed is usually easier to clean (TCNA).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Same grout care as porcelain (TCNA).Not stated by a source we found.NAHB 2007: 75 to 100 (tile floors). InterNACHI: 75 to 100. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 20 to 25 (ceramic, tile, terrazzo).PEI; DCOFTCNA porcelain, ASTM C1027, TCNA cleaning grout, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Natural stone tileAbsorption varies by stone; a water drop that darkens it means it is absorbing (LATICRETE).Grit abrades it: dust mop often (NSI).Sealing makes stone more stain resistant, not stain proof (NSI).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Neutral cleaner. Lemon, vinegar and other acids may dull or etch marble, limestone and travertine (NSI).An etch is repaired by refinishing, not cleaning (NSI).NAHB 2007: marble and granite 100+, slate 100, and stone floors can last less without maintenance. InterNACHI: the same figures. Fannie Mae 2019: no separate row.DCOF where the maker declares itLATICRETE seal test, NSI care, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Granite counterPorosity varies; one restorer's test is hot water for 10 to 20 minutes (Use Natural Stone).Granites typically rate 6 to 7 on the Mohs scale (Use Natural Stone).Oil darkens stone; sealing helps but is not stain proof (NSI). Some granites may need no sealer (Use Natural Stone).NSI recommends trivets even though many stones take heat.Not stated by a source we found.Neutral cleaner, stone soap or mild dish detergent and warm water (NSI). One restorer advises against dish soap (Use Natural Stone).Oil and organic stains: a poultice (NSI). Dull areas around sinks: a restorer.NAHB 2007: Lifetime (natural stone counters). InterNACHI: 100+ (natural stone).No product rating. NSI's home tests; silica 10 to 50 percent, a fabrication hazard (OSHA/NIOSH)NSI care, Use Natural Stone, granite, NSI poultices, NSI shopping guide, OSHA/NIOSH alert 2026, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Marble counterCalcareous: mainly calcium carbonate (NSI).Scouring powders and creams may scratch it (NSI).Red wine wiped at once usually will not stain, but its acid may etch (Use Natural Stone).Trivets recommended (NSI).Not stated by a source we found.No lemon, vinegar or other acids: they may dull or etch (NSI).Etches are refinished by a stone restorer (NSI). Marble can be refinished many times (Use Natural Stone).NAHB 2007: Lifetime (natural stone counters). InterNACHI: 100+ (natural stone).No product rating. The lemon etch test (NSI); silica under 5 percent (OSHA/NIOSH)NSI care, Use Natural Stone, marble, NSI shopping guide, OSHA/NIOSH alert 2026, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Quartzite counterPorosity varies; some quartzites may benefit from sealing (Use Natural Stone).True quartzite scratches glass and dulls knives (Use Natural Stone).True quartzite does not etch from lemon or vinegar; some stones sold as quartzite are marble (Use Natural Stone).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Neutral cleaner (NSI). Rust removers with hydrofluoric acid attack all stone, quartzite included (NSI).Not stated by a source we found.NAHB 2007: Lifetime (natural stone counters). InterNACHI: 100+ (natural stone).No product rating. Lemon, knife and glass tests (Use Natural Stone); silica 95 percent or more (OSHA/NIOSH)Use Natural Stone, quartzite, NSI care, OSHA/NIOSH alert 2026, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Soapstone counterPorosity near zero; Use Natural Stone says it does not have to be sealed.Mohs 1 to 4: expect scratches; mineral oil hides small ones (Use Natural Stone).High resistance to chemicals and acids (Use Natural Stone).Use Natural Stone says hot cookware will not scorch it.Not stated by a source we found.Mineral oil is optional and darkens it (Use Natural Stone).Larger scratches can be sanded out (Use Natural Stone).NAHB 2007: Lifetime (natural stone counters), 100+ (soapstone sinks). InterNACHI: 100+ (natural stone).No product rating. Silica content varies (OSHA/NIOSH)Use Natural Stone, soapstone, OSHA/NIOSH alert 2026, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Engineered quartz counterCambria and Wilsonart say it needs no sealing.Cambria: no stone surface is scratch-proof. Wilsonart: not scratch-proof.Cambria and Wilsonart: no bleach. Silestone's 2021 sheet allows diluted bleach for some stains.Trivets or hot pads (Cambria, Wilsonart, Silestone). Cambria's warranty excludes direct or sustained heat and thermal shock.Silestone's 2021 sheet: not outdoors or in high UV.Warm water, soft cloth, mild soap (Cambria). No sealers or topical treatments (Cambria).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure. Neither NAHB 2007 nor InterNACHI has a quartz row.No product rating. Silica from under 0.2 to 95 percent, a fabrication hazard: ask for the safety data sheet (OSHA/NIOSH)Cambria care, Cambria FAQ, Cambria warranty, Wilsonart quartz care, Silestone use and care (2021), OSHA/NIOSH alert 2026
Solid surface counterWipe completely dry, or hard water leaves a dull film (Corian, 2018).Minor cuts and scratches buff out; the color goes all the way through (Wilsonart).Stains and fine scratches come out with abrasives (Corian, 2018).No hot pots directly on it; trivets with legs (Corian, Wilsonart).Not stated by a source we found.Soapy water or an ammonia-based cleaner, not window cleaner (Corian, 2018).Wilsonart calls it completely renewable; deeper cuts and high gloss need a professional.No published figure. Neither NAHB 2007 nor InterNACHI has a row named solid surface.Not stated by a source we found.Corian care (2018), Wilsonart solid surface care, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Plastic laminate counterDo not flood it near seams: water can swell the substrate (Formica).Not stated by a source we found.Tough stains: acetone or rubbing alcohol, then rinse (Formica).Wilsonart: not above 275 °F for substantial periods. That is an environment limit, not a hot-pan rating.Wilsonart: no intense, continuous direct sunlight.Damp non-abrasive cloth and mild detergent; rinse and dry (Formica).Not stated by a source we found.InterNACHI: 20 to 30 (laminate counters). NAHB 2007: no row.The maker's technical data (Wilsonart lists NEMA LD 3 properties)Formica care, Wilsonart laminate data, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Wood counter or butcher blockSwells when wet and shrinks when dry; fast drying cracks it (USDA).Not stated by a source we found.Finished wood is less likely to show stains from acidic juices (USDA).Not stated by a source we found.Indoor light changes wood color (USDA).Food-grade finish; mineral oil or paraffin wax; not baby oil (USDA).Drying-oil finishes can be patched without lap marks (USDA).NAHB 2007: Lifetime (wood counters). InterNACHI: 100+."Food grade" on the finish label (USDA)USDA FPL food-contact finishes, USDA Wood Handbook, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Stainless steelNot stated by a source we found.Nylon pads scratch mirror finishes; scouring powders scratch (Euro Inox, 2011).Steel wool and wire brushes leave rust spots (Euro Inox, 2011).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Damp cloth; clean along the grain; no chloride cleaners or hypochlorite bleach (Euro Inox, 2011).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Not stated by a source we found.Euro Inox stainless cleaning (2011)
Concrete counterDepends on the sealer (Concrete Decor, 2010).Epoxy sealers scratch easily; polyurethanes resist scratches better (Concrete Decor, 2010).Epoxy: excellent stain resistance. Densifiers: poor to medium against acids and oils (Concrete Decor, 2010).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.A polyurethane sealer can be sanded and recoated after a cut (Concrete Decor, 2010).InterNACHI: 50 (concrete counters). NAHB 2007: no row.The sealer type, from the fabricatorConcrete Decor sealers (2010), NAHB 2007, InterNACHI
Porcelain slabNot stated by a source we found.Ceramic knives and diamond tools can scratch it; metal can mark polished finishes (Laminam).Not stated by a source we found.Use trivets; no heat rating given (Laminam).Not stated by a source we found.Microfiber cloth, water and neutral detergent; no hydrofluoric acid (Laminam).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Not stated by a source we found.Laminam care
Painted wood cabinetMedallion: do not hang damp towels on doors.Not stated by a source we found.KCMA's finish test uses vinegar, grape juice, coffee, alcohol and mustard.KCMA's finish test: a humid 120-degree hotbox for 24 hours.Painted finishes mellow with light; Canyon Creek says that is not a defect.Mild soap and warm water; a fresh cloth (Wolf).Hairline cracks at joints from wood movement show more on paint; makers call them normal (Canyon Creek, Wolf). Before 1978: may contain lead (EPA).NAHB 2007: 50 (kitchen cabinets). InterNACHI: 50. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 15 to 25 (wood construction).KCMA; TSCA Title VIMedallion care (2014), KCMA, certified cabinetry, Canyon Creek expectations, Wolf care guide, EPA, RRP for consumers, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Stained wood cabinetMedallion: do not hang damp towels on doors.Not stated by a source we found.Same KCMA finish test as painted.Same KCMA hotbox test as painted.All finishes change color with light (Canyon Creek).Mild soap and water. Wolf allows optional polish on stained finishes; Medallion says avoid self-polishing waxes.Catalyzed finishes are harder to repair invisibly (Popular Woodworking).NAHB 2007: 50 (kitchen cabinets). InterNACHI: 50. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 15 to 25 (wood construction).KCMA; TSCA Title VIMedallion care (2014), KCMA, certified cabinetry, Canyon Creek expectations, Wolf care guide, Popular Woodworking, catalyzed finishes, NAHB 2007, InterNACHI, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Thermofoil doorNot stated by a source we found.Resists impact, chipping and cracking (CPA).Not stated by a source we found.A thermoplastic: it softens when heated (CPA). Self-cleaning oven heat may discolor it (Medallion). KraftMaid requires heat shields for its laminate door warranty.Not stated by a source we found.Cotton cloth or non-abrasive sponge, mild dish soap; no abrasives or ammonia (Medallion).Failure temperature: not stated by a source we found.No row by door material. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 13 to 20+ for particle board cabinets; NAHB 2007 and InterNACHI: 50 for kitchen cabinets.KCMA; TSCA Title VICPA, 3D laminates, Medallion care (2014), KraftMaid heat shield, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Melamine (thermally fused laminate) doorNot stated by a source we found.Excellent scratch and wear resistance (CPA).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Edges need separate edgebanding (CPA).No row by door material. Fannie Mae 2019 (rentals): 13 to 20+ for particle board cabinets; NAHB 2007 and InterNACHI: 50 for kitchen cabinets.TSCA Title VICPA, TFL, Port of Seattle 2025 (Fannie Mae)
Cotton (upholstery)Subject to mildew (NMSU).Durable (NMSU).Easy to clean (NMSU).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.The cleaning code on the piece decides.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401
Linen (upholstery)Colors may run in washing; may shrink unless finished (NMSU).Strong and durable (NMSU).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.The cleaning code on the piece decides.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401
Wool (upholstery)Water repellent (NMSU).Resilient; resists wrinkling (NMSU).Not stated by a source we found.Flame resistant (NMSU).Not stated by a source we found.Moths and carpet beetles unless treated (NMSU).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401
Nylon (upholstery)Not stated by a source we found.Strong; resists abrasion; may pill (NMSU).Tends to attract dirt (NMSU).Not stated by a source we found.Sun will fade it (NMSU).The cleaning code on the piece decides.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401
Polyester (upholstery)Not stated by a source we found.Strong; resists abrasion; may pill (NMSU).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Holds color (NMSU).The cleaning code on the piece decides.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401
Olefin (upholstery)Nonabsorbent, fast-drying (NMSU).Resists abrasion; free from pilling (NMSU).Resists soil (NMSU). One olefin maker gives a bleach recipe for its own fabric (Revolution).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.The cleaning code on the piece decides.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401, Revolution on cats
Acrylic (upholstery)Weak when wet (NMSU).Resists abrasion; some pill (NMSU).One solution-dyed acrylic maker gives bleach recipes for its own fabric; that does not extend to other acrylics (Sunbrella).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.The cleaning code on the piece decides.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401, Sunbrella cleaning guide
Rayon and viscoseWeaker than most fibers, especially when wet (NMSU). Viscose rugs are extremely sensitive to moisture (Kaleen).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Affected by sunlight (NMSU).The cleaning code on the piece decides.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Cleaning code; double rubsNMSU G-401, Kaleen rug care
Aniline leatherAbsorbs liquids more readily (FIRA).Not stated by a source we found.Dye from jeans can stain it permanently (Carl Hansen).Keep it away from heat sources (Carl Hansen).More susceptible to light (FIRA).Wipe the whole surface; spot cleaning leaves blotches (Carl Hansen).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.The leather type on the label; no end-use standard (FIRA)FIRA leather types, Carl Hansen leather care
Semi-aniline leatherStill easily damaged by spills and soiling (FIRA).Not stated by a source we found.Dye from jeans can stain it permanently (Carl Hansen).Keep it away from heat sources (Carl Hansen).Better light fastness than aniline (FIRA).Wipe the whole surface (Carl Hansen); no household detergents, wax or spray polish (FIRA).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.The leather type on the label; no end-use standard (FIRA)FIRA leather types, Carl Hansen leather care
Pigmented leatherNot stated by a source we found.FIRA calls it the most durable upholstery leather.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Soft brush vacuum; moist cloth and mild soap for spills (FIRA).Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.The leather type on the label; no end-use standard (FIRA)FIRA leather types
Bonded leatherNot stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Fiber content: the FTC guides (written for bags and shoes) say bonded leather should not be called leather without it16 CFR 24
Polyurethane (PU) coated fabric, "faux leather"Breaks down with long humidity and heat, body heat included (hydrolysis) (ACT).Not stated by a source we found.Harsh cleaners, sanitizers and disinfectants cause failures that look like hydrolysis (ACT).Heat speeds hydrolysis (ACT).Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Hydrolysis shows as cracking, flaking and peeling across the piece (ACT).No published figure.Hydrolysis test in weeks; ACT's minimum is 5, and weeks do not convert to yearsACT on hydrolysis
Vinyl (PVC) coated fabricACT says hydrolysis does not affect PVC.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.Not stated by a source we found.No published figure.Not stated by a source we found.ACT on hydrolysis

What no source we found covers

  • Life figures for engineered quartz, solid surface, porcelain slab, rigid-core vinyl, cork and grout.
  • A number for how hot a pan a quartz counter takes; every quartz maker we read asks for a trivet instead.
  • Radiant heat limits for vinyl, laminate and cork, and the temperature at which thermofoil fails.
  • Carpet fiber properties from an extension service or agency: the Carpet and Rug Institute names the fibers but rates none.
  • A test for pet claws on fabric. One fabric maker says no upholstery fabric is truly scratch-proof (Revolution Performance Fabrics).

Where you need one of these, the maker's own sheet for your product is the place to ask. Write the answer on the Comparison sheet. Ask the authority

Limits

This table summarizes what each source says about a material in general. It does not say how your floor, counter or sofa will behave: products in one row differ by maker, line, finish and installation, and a life figure is a survey estimate, not a promise. It does not recommend or rank any material. Test your own samples (Sample tests), read your product's care sheet and warranty, and use How to compare finishes for a decision.